Deja Vu Salmon Arm

My brother Jason, Sugar D, and myself, headed out to Salmon Arm a few weeks ago to pre-ride the Salty Dog mountain bicycle racing course. It was the kick off of my Road Warrior Month and a chance to put knobbies on dry and fertile BC dirt, as opposed to the snow that was still clinging to all but a few K of south facing Alberta trails. I drove to work with all my stuff packed up in the Subie and turbo’ed outta there at the stroke of 5:00. I picked up Shawna, waved ‘hey’ to JJC, who couldn’t make it, and we busted out for the hills. We stayed at the same Cabbage Cabin as last year and Jas’ car was investigated, presumably, by the same young black bear that checked out Scott’s car. We again threw axes at George’s targets and again this was done under the influence of alcoholic beverages. My car, just like the year prior, broke down on the drive to the trail-head, and it was, once again, the fuel pump. Oh wait, that didn’t happen last year. So this trip was different and unique – a silver lining, I s’spose. Good ol Subie just sputtered to a stop on the side of the highway. I called Canadian Tire and was able to book it in for the very next day, and when I dialed up CAA to tow it, we realized that the tow truck place was a stone’s throw away. I walked the keys over to the guys there and then piled into the back of my bro’s car, on top of my bike, and we made it to the trail-head.

The riding at South Canoe was great and I felt good – Shawna was ripping it up on a carbon hardtail and we climbed in close proximity, making me feel like my fitness is better this year. Its amazing how when you’re not just pinned you can handle your bike so much better – with breath, there’s control, grasshopper. One of Jas’ buddies, Scott Wad, came out to ride with us and despite hauling a 5″ and 5″ travel freeride rig up the trails and not feeling very healthy, he was right in the flow of things as we hit up White Lake on the Sunday.

My car was ready to go just in time to head out on the Sunday and the cost of the repairs was just around $600, as opposed to the $700 that I thought a fuel pump would cost.

Then I got a $200 speeding ticket on the way home, testing it out. The RCMP officer didn’t see the humor in the fact that I’d just paid $600 to make it so my car could actually go fast enough to get a speeding ticket. When I pointed that out he looked at me with lifeless, policeman eyes and said, “The instructions for paying are on the back. Have a good day.”

Road trip one, done and done. Next up – Velocity Stage Race.

Comments are closed.

