Joy Division, for All Souls Day

Dead Souls

The first of Nov, All Saints Day, is for the dearly departed in heaven, and the 2nd of Nov, All Souls Day, is for the dearly departed in purgatory. And the 31st of October is the time in the year when the fabric between those two places, and Earth, is at its flimsiest. So you get people wandering around dressed like slutty nurses and pimps for a night. According to the mythology of it all. The truth, however, is that it probably all relates to farming, the coming weather, and crops.

But let’s just talk music, now, shall we?

I love and prefer the original, but I actually don’t hate the NIN version from the Crow soundtrack. Most cover songs are crap, but Reznor does a decent job of it and I’m not enough of a Joy Division purist to dis and dismiss. Which is better? Ian Curtis or Trent Reznor?

Someone take these dreams away,
That point me to another day,
A duel of personalities,
That stretch all true realities.

That keep calling me,
They keep calling me,
Keep on calling me,
They keep calling me.

Where figures from the past stand tall,
And mocking voices ring the halls.
Imperialistic house of prayer,
Conquistadors who took their share.

That keep calling me,
They keep calling me,
Keep on calling me,
They keep calling me.

Comments are closed.

