Laid out 2006.

I tore the ACL and the MCL outta my left knee the other day. This is 3 years after tearing the ACL out of my right knee. This time I was sprinting after the ball, alone, and there was a slight gradual slope to the sideline, which I was right up against. There were people just a few feet away, and others 20 or so from me. It just buckled and it was like getting hit by lightning. One minute you’re running and the next you’re on your back bucking around in pain. Apparently it was loud, like a clap, some people said. I guess I had an imbalance in my knee after overusing that leg ’cause of the last knee injury, on the right one.  A time bomb just ticking.

Am I bitter that this should happen just as I was getting in shape and hitting some form and confidence, not just on the soccer pitch but in life as well? Of course. But I’m surprisingly not. Because that would be letting this shitty bit of bad luck ruin too much of the good luck that goes on. It would be letting my achy, buckling trick knee govern far more of my life then I think its entitled too. We had a talk, my knee and I, and I told it, “you can do whatever the hell you want down there till we get you fixed, but you aren’t allowed to muck up the good. So fuck off and get in line.”

I’m not taking this one lying down or mopey. You can’t, or the injury wins and it takes 3 times as long to recover from.

Comments are closed.

